« Johnny Mathis Different Kinda Different CD | Main | Janie Fricke It Ain’t Easy—The Complete Hits (2-CD Set) »

Johnny Mathis I Only Have Eyes for You/Hold Me Thrill Me Kiss Me. CD

  • Real Gone Music Continues Its Joyful Romp Through Johnny Mathis’ Classic ‘70s (and ‘80s) Columbia Records Catalog with Two More Releases Featuring Expanded Editions of Three Albums

  • Both Releases Feature Liner Notes by The Second Disc’s Joe Marchese Based on Exclusive Interviews with Johnny Mathis

  • Both Releases Mastered by Mike Piacentini at Sony’s Battery Studios in New York

  • I Only Have Eyes for You/Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me Presents 1976 and 1977 Albums Both Produced by Frequent Mathis Collaborator Jack Gold

  • Both Albums Featured Arrangements by Gene Page, Whose Lush, Orchestral Work Graced Barry White’s Records

  • I Only Have Eyes for You Introduced Longtime Mathis Concert Favorite “Yellow Roses on Her Gown” and the Christmas Perennial “When a Child Is Born”

  • Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me Found Mathis Saluting His Columbia Records Labelmate Barbra Streisand with the Romantic “Evergreen”

  • Bonus Tracks Include “Experience” and a Version of Stevie Wonder’s “If It’s Magic”

  • Liner Notes Feature Quotes from Songwriter Harriet Schock (“Ooh, What We Do”)

  • Different Kinda Different Kicked Off the ‘80s with Another Jack Gold Production Arranged by Gene Page

  • Features Two Sizzling Pop-Soul Duets with Singer Paulette McWilliams, “Different Kinda Different” and “I’d Do It All for You”

  • Expanded Edition Includes a Whopping Nine Bonus Tracks

  • Bonus Track Highlights Include Johnny’s Velvety Rendition of Lionel Richie’s “Three Times a Lady” and the New Songs Recorded for Mathis’ 1981 Retrospective The First 25 Years–The Silver Anniversary Album

  • Liner Notes Include Quotes from Paulette McWilliams


    Johnny Mathis I Only Have Eyes for You/Hold Me Thrill Me Kiss Me. CD

    Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records continue their ongoing celebration of Johnny Mathis’ legendary catalog with a new expanded two-for-one CD–and this one’s even more packed with signature Mathis songs than usual! 1976’s I Only Have Eyes for You and 1977’s Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me both reunited Mathis with a pair of his favorite collaborators, producer Jack Gold and arranger Gene Page, for silky renditions of the day’s pop smashes as only Mathis could deliver them. Page brought the same style of lush orchestration he perfected with Barry White to these sets featuring songs by the top songwriters of the day including Neil Sedaka (“The Hungry Years”), Alan O’Day (“Do Me Wrong, But Do Me”), Stephen Sondheim (“Send in the Clowns”), Marvin Hamlisch (“One”), and the team of Michael Masserand Gerry Goffin (“Do You Know Where You’re Going To,” “I Always Knew I Had Itin Me”). I Only Have Eyes for You introduced the artist’s longtime concert favorite“Yellow Roses on Her Gown” and the Christmas perennial “When a Child Is Born”as well as acclaimed singer-songwriter Harriet Schock’s “Ooh, What We Do.” Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me found Mathis saluting his Columbia Records labelmate Barbra Streisand with the romantic “Evergreen,” breathing new life into the vintage standard “All the Things You Are,” and giving a classy spin to the Annie anthem“Tomorrow.” Two outtakes, “Experience” and Stevie Wonder’s spellbinding “If It’sMagic,” round out the deluxe package. Mike Piacentini at Sony’s Battery Studios has remastered both albums, and The Second Disc’s Joe Marchese has penned new liner notes based on fresh interviews with Harriet Schock and, of course, Johnny Mathis.


    1. I Write The Songs
      2. Do Me Wrong, But Do Me
      3. The Hungry Years
      4. I Only Have Eyes for You
      5. Yellow Roses On Her Gown
      6. (Do You Know Where You’re Going To) Theme From “Mahogany”
      7. Ooh What We Do
      8. Send In The Clowns
      9. Every Time You Touch Me (I Get High)
      10. When a Child Is Born
      11. Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me
      12. We’re All Alone
      13. All the Things You Are
      14. One
      15. When I Need You
      16. The Most Beautiful Girl
      17. Tomorrow
      18. Evergreen
      19. I Always Knew I Had It In Me
      20. Don’t Give Up On Us
      21. Experience (Bonus Track)
      22. If It’s Magic (Bonus Track)


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend