« Janie Fricke It Ain’t Easy—The Complete Hits (2-CD Set) | Main | Jefferson Airplane Woodstock Sunday August 17, 1969 (Limited 50th Anniversary "New Dawn" Blue Vinyl Edition) »

The Strangeloves I Want Candy (Limited Candy Apple Red Vinyl Edition) LP

  • The Strangeloves Tried to Cash In on the British Invasion by Billing Themselves as Giles, Miles, and Niles Strange, Three Sheep Farmers from Down Under

  • But They Really Were Three Budding Music Moguls from Brooklyn, Namely Richard Gottehrer, Jerry Goldstein, and Bob Feldman

  • Gottehrer Went On to Co-Found Sire Records and The Orchard, While Goldstein Produced Sly & the Family Stone and War Among the Band Members’ Many Industry Achievements

  • The Trio Had Already Written and Produced The Angels’ “My Boyfriend’s Back” Before Recording Their One and Only Album

  • Released in 1965 on Bert Berns’ Bang Label

  • Hilariously Presented the Trio in Caveman Gear on the Front Cover

  • Featured the Big Hit “I Want Candy,” Later Covered by Bow Wow Wow

  • Other Hits Included “Cara-Lin” and “Night Time”

  • Also Premiered Their Song “Hang On Sloopy” Before They Gave It to Their Discovery The McCoys Who Took It to Number One

  • Reissued on Vinyl for the First Time in 30 Years

  • Candy Apple Red Pressing

  • Limited to 1000 Copies


    The Strangeloves: I Want Candy (Limited Candy Apple Red Vinyl Edition) LP

    What do three budding music moguls from Brooklyn do when all the music business is obsessed with the British Invasion? Easy they pretend they grew up in Australia (on a sheep farm, no less)! But, as it turns out, Richard Gottehrer, Jerry Goldstein, and Bob Feldman (a.k.a Giles, Miles, and Niles Strange) didnt need any gimmicks to succeed in the music business. They had already written and produced The Angels hit My Boyfriends Back when they launched the Strangeloves; Gottehrer went on to co-found Sire Records and The Orchard, while Goldstein produced Sly & the Family Stone and War among the band members many industry achievements. But for their one and only album, Giles, Miles, and Niles Strange they were, adorned in caveman gear on the front cover of this 1965 release on Bert Berns Bang label. I Want Candy (later, of course, covered by Bow Wow Wow) was the big hit, but Cara-Lin and Night Time also scraped the Top 40, and the trio also premiered their song Hang On Sloopy before they gave it to their discovery The McCoys who took it to number one. In short, this is a one-off slice of classic 60s pop-rock, reissued for the first time in over 30 years on vinyl (candy apple red vinyl, to be exact). Limited edition of 1000!

    Side One

    1. Cara-Lin
    2. No Jive
    3. Hang On Sloopy 
    4. New Orleans
    5. Sendin’ My Love

    6. I Want Candy

    Side Two

    1. Night-Time
    2. (Roll On) Mississippi 
    3. Satisfaction
    4. Rhythm of Love
    5. It’s About My Baby 

    6. Just the Way You Are

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend