JOHNNY MATHIS: The Heart of a Woman/Feelings (Expanded Edition) (2-CD Set)
Saturday, June 29, 2019 at 1:27PM
[Your Name Here]
  • Real Gone Music Continues Its Romp Through Johnny Mathis’ Classic ‘70s Columbia Albums with a Pair of Twofers

  • Both Releases Feature Liner Notes by Joe Marchese That Include Fresh Quotes from Johnny Mathis and Producer Jerry Fuller

  • Both Releases Remastered by Mike Piacentini at Sony’s Battery Studios

  • 1973’s Killing Me Softly with Her Song and 1975’s When Will I See You Again Appear on a Single CD

  • Killing Me Softly with Her Song Was Johnny’s Final Full- Length Album Collaboration with Songwriter-Producer Jerry Fuller

  • Premiered Fuller’s “Show and Tell,” a Top 40 AC Hit for Johnny and Later a Chart-Topping Pop Hit for Al Wilson

  • Eclectic Line-Up Also Boasts Classic Songs from Thom Bell, Kenny Gamble, Don McLean, Stevie Wonder, David Gates, and Joe Raposo

  • When Will I See You Again Took Its Title from Gamble
    and Leon Huff’s Hit for Philadelphia’s Three Degrees, and Featured Another Tribute to the Philly Sound with Thom Bell and Linda Creed’s Beautiful “You’re as Right as Rain”

  • Also Included Songs by Barry Manilow, Neil Sedaka, Marvin Hamlisch, and Paul Williams Among Others

  • 1974’s The Heart of a Woman and 1975’s Feelings Appear on a 2-CD Set

  • Expanded Edition Boasts Nine Bonus Tracks

  • For The Heart of a Woman, Johnny Teamed with Motown’s Legendary Producer Johnny Bristol and Arranger Paul Rise for a Set Filled with Bristol Originals

  • The Album Also Features a Sensual Cover of Roberta Flack’s chart-topper “Feel Like Makin’ Love” and a Surprising Rendition of “Wendy” from the Blaxploitation Film Three the Hard Way

  • Feelings, Produced by Jack Gold, Notably Introduced Mathis’ Evocative Version of Albert Hammond and Hal David’s “99 Miles from L.A.,” a Song Which the Vocalist Still Performs in Concert Today

  • Bonus Tracks Include Two Tracks Produced by Composer Roger Nichols and a Rare Session Reuniting Johnny with Producer-Songwriter Jerry Fuller

  • Two Essential Releases for Mathis Fans


    Johnny Mathis: The Heart of a Woman/Feelings (Expanded Edition) (2-CD Set)

    During the 1974 holiday season, Johnny Mathis could be heard at cosmetics counters nationwide. His song “The Heart of a Woman” was the theme for Helena Rubinstein’s Courant perfume and the title track of his latest LP. Now, The Heart of a Woman is finally coming to standalone CD in a deluxe, double-disc expanded edition from Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records, paired with 1975’s Feelings. The Heart of a Woman was more than a perfume tie-in, however. Johnny teamed with Motown’s legendary producer Johnny Bristol and arranger Paul Rise—plus session players like Dennis Coffey and Ray Parker, Jr.—for a set filled with Bristol originals which would inspire subsequent recordings from artists such as Boz Scaggs and Tom Jones. In addition to the title tune by Broadway’s Charles Strouse and Lee Adams (Bye Bye Birdie), the album also features a sensual cover of the Roberta Flack chart-topper “Feel Like Makin’ Love” and perhaps surprisingly, Johnny’s rendition of “Wendy” from the blaxploitation film Three the Hard Way! Feelings, produced by Jack Gold, notably introduced Mathis’ evocative version of Albert Hammond and Hal David’s “99 Miles from L.A.,” a song which the vocalist still performs in concert today. It also boasts David and Henry Mancini’s “The Greatest Gift” from The Return of the Pink Panther, and smooth interpretations of the standout ballad “What Did for Love” from A Chorus Line, Melissa Manchester’s enchanting “Midnight Blue,” and Neil Sedaka’s “Solitaire.” Nine fascinating period bonus tracks are included on this 2-CD set including two tracks produced by composer Roger Nichols and a rare session reuniting Johnny with producer-songwriter Jerry Fuller. Joe Marchese’s new liner notes draw on interviews with Mathis and Fuller, and Mike Piacentini has remastered at Sony’s Battery Studios. This set of amorous favorites from The Voice of Romance promises to go straight to the Heart.

    Disc: 1

      1. Woman, Woman
      2. Sail On White Moon
      3. It's Gone
      4. House for Sale
      5. Feel Like Makin' Love
      6. Memories Don't Leave Like People Do
      7. Strangers in Dark Corners
      8. Wendy
      9. The Heart of a Woman
      10. The Way We Planned It
      11. Fifty, Fifty (1974 Version)
      12. Nothing in This Whole World


    Disc: 2

      1. One Day in Your Life
      2. Stardust
      3. What I Did for Love
      4. Midnight Blue
      5. The Greatest Gift
      6. 99 Miles from L.A.
      7. Hurry Mother Nature
      8. Feelings
      9. That's All She Wrote
      10. Solitaire
      11. Crazy Little Love Makin' Ways
      12. Let's Go On from Here
      13. Turn the Lights Down
      14. You Are There
      15. Fifty, Fifty (1976 Version)
      16. That's What Makes the Music Play
      17. Let Me Be the One
Article originally appeared on Real Gone Music (
See website for complete article licensing information.