« The Deviants The Deviants #3 (Limited Black & White “Nun’s Habit” Vinyl Edition) LP | Main | Airto Natural Feelings (Limited 180-Gram Black Vinyl Edition) LP »

Norma Tanega Walkin' My Cat Named Dog (Limited Green Vinyl Edition) LP

  • Norma Tanega Was Discovered While Singing at a Summer Camp in the Catskills by Producer Herb Bernstein

  • Bernstein Brought Her to the Attention of Four Seasons Songwriter Bob Crewe, Who Signed Her to His New Voice Label

  • Success Was Almost Instantaneous for Tanega, as the Title Track to Her 1966 AlbumWalkin’ My Cat Named Dog Went to #22
    on the Charts

  • But the Folk-Pop Sheen of That Album Obscured the Fact That Her Material Was Not Standard Top 40 Fare

  • Tanega’s Voice Was Unconventional, and Her Songs Were Very Personal and Idiosyncratic, Employing Unusual Structures and Meters

  • In Fact, on Her American Tour to Support the Album, Her Back-Up Band The Outsiders Couldn’t Get the Hang of Her Songs, Forcing Her to Employ Session Musicians

  • Then, on Her Subsequent British Tour, She Met Dusty Springfield, and Her Life Changed Completely

  • Springfield and Tanega Began an Artistic and Romantic Partnership That Prompted Tanega to Move to London for Five Years

  • After the Pair Split Up, Tanega Moved to California, and Shifted to Playing Percussion in More Experimental Settings, Following the Eccentric Muse That Makes Walkin’ My Cat Named Dog Such an Entrancing Listen

  • First-Ever Vinyl Reissue

  • Original Artwork

  • In Stereo

  • Green Vinyl

  • Limited to 1000 Copies


    Norma Tanega: Walkin' My Cat Named Dog (Limited Green Vinyl Edition) LP

    Now, here’s a cult classic album long overdue for a vinyl reissue! Norma Tanega was discovered while singing to Catskill summer campers by producer Herb Bernstein, who brought her to Four Seasons songwriter Bob Crewe. Crewe signed her to his New Voice label, and success was instantaneous: the title song to Walkin’ My Cat Named Dog went to #22 on the charts. But, despite the album’s folk-pop trappings, Norma Tanega was not an artist destined to stay at the top of the charts for long; her voice was unconventional, and her songs were too idiosyncratic, not sticking to typical song structure or even meter (for example, “No Stranger Am I” is set to a 5/4 time signature). In fact, Tanega’s songs were so unusual that she had to hire session musicians to play them on the North American tour she took to support the album instead of her erstwhile back-up band The Outsiders! Upon returning, she then embarked on a British tour that was to change her life forever; there she met Dusty Springfield, and the two embarked on an artistic and romantic relationship that prompted Tanega to move to London for five years. After the pair broke up, Tanega wound up moving to California and shifted to playing percussion in more experimental settings, following the wayward muse that makes Walkin’ My Cat Named Dog such an entrancing and unique listening experience. Real Gone Music is proud to reissue this album just like it originally came out in 1966, in stereo with the original album artwork. Just one difference: this is a green vinyl pressing limited to 1000 copies!

    SONGS: Side One

    1. You’re Dead
    2. Treat Me Right
    3. Waves
    4. Jubilation
    5. Don’t Touch
    6. Walkin’ My Cat Named Dog

    Side Two

    1. A Street That Rhymes at 6 A.M.
    2. I’m Dreamin’ a Dream 
    3. What Are We Craving? 
    4. No Stranger Am I
    5. Hey Girl

    6. I’m the Sky

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend