Gordon Lightfoot The Complete Singles 1970-1980 (2-CD Set)
Tuesday, January 8, 2019 at 1:52PM
[Your Name Here]
  • Nobody Sounds Like Gordon Lightfoot

  • Neither Pop Nor Rock Nor Country Nor Folk, His Music Is Unvarnished and Direct, and Completely Uncompromising

  • Both Marvelous Interpreter of Other Writers’ Material and a Sublime Songwriter in His Own Right, He Is Deservedly a Legend and an Icon in His Native Canada

  • Lightfoot Never Set Out to Be a Popular Artist

  • But, When He Moved from United Artists to Reprise and Began Working with Producer Lenny Waronker, the Hits Soon Followed

  • Starting with “If You Could Read My Mind,” Lightfoot Reeled Off 13 Chart Singles and Four Top Ten Entries during the ‘70s as Well as a Host of Adult Contemporary and Country Chart Appearances

  • Now, Real Gone Music Has Compiled the A and B-Sides of All the Singles Lightfoot Recorded with Waronker (and Joe Wissert) for Reprise and Warner Bros.

  • 34 Sides in All Featuring Hard-to-Find B-Sides

  • Debut CD Appearance of the Single Versions of “Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald” and “Rainy Day People”

  • Also First Time on CD for Six Mono Single Versions

  • Careful Curation of Single Versions

  • Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision

  • Additional Mastering and Tape Vetting by Aaron Kannowski

  • Annotated by Folk Rock Expert Richie Unterberger

  • The Complete Singles 1970-1980 Represents a Key Piece of the Lightfoot Canon

    Order Now!

    Gordon Lightfoot: The Complete Singles 1970-1980 (2-CD Set)

    Gordon Lightfoot is a genre unto himself. Neither pop nor folk nor country nor rock, his music is unvarnished, direct, a statement from one heart to another (as Lightfoot has stated, “I like to keep things simple. I don’t like to make them complicated”). And this uncompromising stance has not only made him a legend (particularly in his native Canada, where he is a full-fledged icon), but also, somewhat paradoxically, brought him huge commercial success (which, ironically, has in turn caused some to discount his prodigious songwriting talent). For Gordon Lightfoot never set out to be a “popular” singer-songwriter. When he signed with Warner Bros. and began working with producer Lenny Waronker, Lightfoot thought of himself as an album artist, and, indeed, the Lightfoot-Waronker songwriter-producer partnership (with a brief period with Joe Wissert as producer) yielded nine charting albums—and that’s not even counting the compilations—highlighted by a #1 slot for 1974’s Sundown. But, starting with 1970’s “If You Could Read My Mind,” Lightfoot also reeled off 13 Pop chart singles including 4 Top Tenners during the ‘70s, as well as a host of Adult Contemporary and Country chart appearances, which is again testimony to his ability to transcend musical styles. Now, Real Gone Music has for the first time ever compiled the A and B-sides of ALL the singles Lightfoot recorded with Waronker and Wissert for the Reprise and Warner Bros. labels, 34 sides in all featuring all the hits and hard-to-find B-sides. Lightfoot collectors will find much to feast on here; the single versions of “Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald” and “Rainy Day People” make their CD debuts, as well as six other songs that appear in their mono single versions on CD for the first time (many of the early ‘70s singles were issued in both mono and stereo, sometimes one format for promo and another for commercial, “stock” 45s; we have used the “stock” version in all cases and gone with the one for which we had the best sources in those cases where commercial 45s were released in both stereo and mono). And, for the more casual Lightfoot fan, this 2-CD set provides an ideal, in-depth overview of the artist’s “classic” period, peppered with one memorable tune after another. Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision, with additional mastering and tape vetting by Aaron Kannowski, and annotated by folk rock guru Richie Unterberger, The Complete Singles 1970-1980 represents a key addition to Gordon Lightfoot canon and is just a wonderful listen from start to finish.



    Disc One

    1. Me and Bobby McGee
    2. The Pony Man
    3. If You Could Read My Mind 
    4. Poor Little Allison
    5. Talking in Your Sleep
    6. Nous Vivons Ensemble
    7. Summer Side of Life
    8. Love & Maple Syrup
    9. Beautiful
    10. Don Quixote
    11. That Same Old Obsession 

    12. You Are What I Am
    13. Can’t Depend on Love
    14. It’s Worth Believin’
    15. Sundown
    16. Too Late for Prayin’
    17. Carefree Highway
    18. Seven Island Suite

    Disc Two

    1. Rainy Day People
    2. Cherokee Bend
    3. The Wreck of the Edmund Fitzgerald 
    4. The House You Live In
    5. Race Among the Ruins
    6. Protocol
    7. The Circle Is Small (I Can See It in Your Eyes)
    8. Sweet Guinevere
    9. Daylight Katy
    10. Hangdog Hotel Room 
    11. Dreamland
    12. Songs the Minstrel Sang 
    13. Dream Street Rose
    14. Make Way for the Lady 

    15. If You Need Me
    16. Mister Rock of Ages

Article originally appeared on Real Gone Music (http://www.realgonemusic.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.