Ken Boothe Black, Gold & Green (Limited Black & Green Vinyl Edition) LP
Friday, January 4, 2019 at 10:23AM
[Your Name Here]
  • Ken Boothe Is One of the Greatest Singers to Come Out of Jamaica

  • His Gritty Vocals Brought the Sound of Memphis Soul to the Kingston Rock Steady and Reggae Sound

  • Boothe Began His Solo Career on the Legendary Clement “Coxsone” Dodd’s Studio One Label, then Worked with Leslie Kong on His Beverley’s Records Label

  • But in 1973, Boothe Made a Major Career Shift and Signed with the Trojan Records Label

  • Black, Gold & Green Is the First Record Boothe Cut with Trojan

  • It Was Also the First Record He Made with Producer Lloyd Charmers

  • Features Much Darker and More Politically Aware Material Than That Offered by Boothe’s Previous Albums

  • Highlights Include “Out of Love,” “Missing You,” and a Great Cover of Bill Withers’ “Ain’t No Sunshine”

  • First-Ever Vinyl Reissue

  • Remastered for Vinyl by Mike Milchner at SonicVision

  • Pressed in Black & Green Vinyl

  • Limited to 700 Copies!

    Order Now!

    Ken Boothe: Black, Gold & Green (Limited Black & Green Vinyl Edition) LP

    Ken Boothe had left his “Mr. Rock Steady” days far behind him by the time he recorded this 1973 album, his first with producer Lloyd Charmers and his first for the legendary Trojan label. Black, Gold & Green took Boothe in a much darker and more politically aware direction, and featured some of the best and most passionate soul singing of his career, particularly on “Out of Love,” “Missing You,” and his fantastic cover of Bill Withers’ “Ain’t No Sunshine.” This is Memphis-meets-Kingston reggae soul at its very best, and for its first-ever vinyl reissue, we’ve had Mike Milchner at SonicVision remaster the album, and pressed it up in black and green vinyl limited to 700 copies. Essential!

    SIDE 1

    1. Out of Love
    2. Missing You
    3. Look What You Have Done to Me
    4. Ain’t No Sunshine
    5. Hallelujah

    6. Train/I Don’t Want to See You Cry

    SIDE 2

    1. Thinking
    2. Second Chance
    3. Have I Sinned
    4. Black, Gold & Green 5. Suzie
    6. Your Feeling and Mine
Article originally appeared on Real Gone Music (
See website for complete article licensing information.