« The Statler Brothers Sing the Classics. CD | Main | Johnny Mathis Close to You/Love Story (Expanded Edition) CD »

Johnny Mathis You've Got a Friend (Expanded Edition) CD

  • Real Gone Music Continues Its Reissue Campaign of Johnny Mathis’ Classic ‘70s Albums for Columbia with Three Albums Offering Johnny’s Flawless Interpretations of Contemporary Hits of the Day

  • The First Release Is a Twofer Featuring the Albums Close to You and Love Story Plus Three Bonus Tracks

  • Mathis Teamed with Long-Time Producer Jack Gold and Ace Arranger Ernie Freeman for Close to You

  • Johnny Returned to the Songbooks of Burt Bacharach
    and Hal David (the Title Song), The Beatles (“The Long and Winding Road”), and Antonio Carlos Jobim (“Wave”) While Also Reinterpreting Hits by Ray Stevens, Buffy Sainte-Marie, and Even Columbia Label-Mate Santana

  • Includes the Academy Award-Nominated Movie Theme “Pieces of Dreams”

  • Love Story Was Produced by Gold with Arrangements by Perry Botkin, Jr., a Frequent Collaborator of Harry Nilsson

  • Johnny Brought His Silken Sound to Rare Tunes by Bacharach and David (the Top 40 AC Chart Entry “Ten Times Forever More”) and Carole King and Gerry Goffin (“I Was There”) as Well as His Friend Henry Mancini (“Loss of Love”) and Paul Williams and Roger Nichols (“We’ve Only Just Begun”)

  • Bonus Tracks Include Outtake Recordings of Bodie Chandler’s “Caroline” and a “Goin’ Out of My Head/Can’t Take My Eyes Off You” Medley, Plus the B-side of “Pieces of Dreams,” Mancini and Johnny Mercer’s “Darling Lili.”

  • Johnny Mathis Teamed with Superstar Producer Richard Perry (Nilsson Schmilsson, Ringo, Barbra Streisand’s Stoney End) for 1971’s You’ve Got a Friend

  • Fusing Pop and Soul, Mathis and Perry Tackled Favorites from James Taylor (“Long Ago and Far Away”), The Beatles (“We Can Work It Out”), The Jackson 5 (“Never Can Say Goodbye”), and Gordon Lightfoot (“If You Could Read My Mind”), Along with Two Tracks from Carole King’s Tapestry

  • Expanded Edition Features Eight Bonus Tracks Including Fresh Versions of The Four Tops’ Motown Perennial “Reach Out (I’ll Be There),” The Beatles’ “Golden Slumbers,” and the Classic “I Only Have Eyes for You,” Plus a Host of Rare Singles

  • Both Releases Remastered by Mike Piacentini at Battery Studios in New York

  • Rare Photos

  • Liner Notes by The Second Disc’s Joe Marchese Include Exclusive Quotes from Johnny Mathis Himself

    ORDER NOW!!  

    Johnny Mathis: You've Got a Friend (Expanded Edition) CD

    What happens when you pair a classic pop vocalist with a superstar rock producer, and both are at the top of their game? The result is pure magic, or in this case, Mathis magic! Johnny Mathis teamed with Richard Perry (Nilsson Schmilsson, Ringo, Barbra Streisand’s Stoney End) for 1971’s You’ve Got a Friend, and now that classic album is making its U.S. standalone CD premiere in a deluxe, expanded edition from Real Gone Music and Second Disc Records! Blending the Perry sessions with recordings produced by Mathis himself, You’ve Got a Friend offers a spectacular array of then-recent hits rendered as only Johnny could. Fusing pop and soul, Mathis and Perry tackled favorites from James Taylor (“Long Ago and Far Away”), The Beatles (“We Can Work It Out”), The Jackson 5 (“Never Can Say Goodbye”), and Gordon Lightfoot (“If You Could Read My Mind”). Carole King’s warmhearted title track is one of two Tapestry cuts smoothly sung here by Johnny, along with the chart-topping “It’s Too Late.” Mathis’ rich tapestry of contemporary music has grown larger thanks to this edition’s whopping eight bonus tracks. Session outtakes include fresh versions of The Four Tops’ Motown perennial “Reach Out (I’ll Be There),” The Beatles’ “Golden Slumbers,” and the classic “I Only Have Eyes for You” (which Johnny would re-record for his 1976 album of the same name). The set is then rounded out with a host of rare singles like Jimmy Webb’s “Evie,” John Barry and Don Black’s “This Way Mary” from Mary, Queen of Scots, and the single version of Jacques Brel’s “If We Only Have Love.” This beloved Friend is sounding better than ever, as Mike Piacentini at Sony’s Battery Studios has remastered everything. The Second Disc’s Joe Marchese has penned the liner notes featuring new quotes from Johnny Mathis.

      1. You've Got a Friend
      2. How Can You Mend a Broken Heart
      3. Help Me Make It Through the Night
      4. If You Could Read My Mind
      5. Never Say Goodbye
      6. It's Too Late
      7. We Can Work It Out
      8. Long Ago and Far Away
      9. If
      10. For All We Know
      11. If We Only Have Love
    Bonus Tracks
      12. Reach Out
      13. So Much in Love
      14. I Only Have Eyes for You
      15. Golden Slumbers
      16. Evie
      17. Think About Things
      18. If We Only Have Love (Single Version)
      19. This Way Mary

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend