« Debby Boone Midstream/Debby Boone & Love Has No Reason/Savin' It Up CDs | Main | Johnny Mathis Raindrops Keep Fallin' on My Head & Sings the Music of Bacharach & Kaempfert CDs »

Eric Andersen The Essential Eric Andersen (2CD-Set)

Author of Such Classic Songs as “Thirsty Boots,” “Violets of Dawn,” “Close the Door Lightly When You Go,” and “Is It Really Love at All” Among Many Others, Eric Andersen Is One of the Greatest Singer-Songwriters to Emerge from the Fabled Greenwich Village Folk Scene of the ‘60s 

Such an Artist Demands a True, Career-Spanning Anthology Chronicling Every Phase of His Multi- Faceted Career 

Now, Real Gone Music, along with Sony Legacy and with Input from Eric Andersen Himself, Is Releasing the Ultimate Retrospective of His Body of Work 

The Essential Eric Andersen Spans 45 Years of Recordings Taken from 18 Di erent Albums 

Includes Material from the Vanguard, Warner Bros., Columbia, Arista, Gold Castle, Appleseed, Meyer, Ryko, Smithsonian Folkways, CBS Holland and Sony Legacy Labels 

33 tracks 

Features an Unreleased Take on Merle Haggard’s “Mama Tried” with David Bromberg 

Other Collaborators Include Joni Mitchell, Lou Reed, Rick Danko, Richard Thompson, Dan Fogelberg, Joan Baez, and Leon Russell 

Highlights Include Four Tracks from the Classic Blue River Album and Five Tracks from the Stages Album, the Tapes for Which Were Lost for Two Decades 

Also Features the Best of Andersen’s Recent European Recordings 

The Collection Concludes with Andersen’s First-Ever Recording, a Duet with Phil Ochs on “Plains of Nebraska-O,” Taking Him Back to His Greenwich Village Roots 

Liner Notes by Anthony DeCurtis of Rolling Stone 

Photos from the Artist’s Private Collection 

Remastered by Mark Wilder at Battery Studios in New York 

Released in Conjunction with a New Documentary Film on Eric Andersen, The Songpoet, to Be Released Later This Year 

The Definitive Look at a Major Artist in American Music


Eric Andersen: The Essential Eric Andersen (2CD-Set)

Author of such nonpareil songs as “Thirsty Boots,” “Violets of Dawn,” “Close the Door Lightly When You Go,” and “Is It Really Love at All” among many others, Eric Andersen is one of the greatest singer-songwriters to emerge from the fabled Greenwich Village folk scene of the ‘60s. But the one thing missing from his catalog of recordings is a true, career-spanning anthology chronicling every phase of his multi-faceted career. Now, Real Gone Music, in association with Sony Legacy and the artist himself, presents The Essential Eric Andersen, a 2-CD, 33-track set that spans 45 years, 10 different labels, and 18 different albums in offering the de nitive look at his body of work. The highlights are too numerous to list but here are a few; the retrospective ttingly begins with two solo tracks from his 1965 debut Vanguard album Today Is the Highway before touching on such career standouts as his Blue River album (represented by four tunes including “Is It Really Love at All” and the title track with Joni Mitchell), its follow-up Stages ( ve songs including “Time Run Like a Freight Train” with Dan Fogelberg on background vocals), the tapes for which were lost for two decades before being found in the Columbia vaults, and even an unreleased track, a cover of Merle Haggard’s “Mama Tried” featuring David Bromberg on dobro. Disc two leads off with several tracks from Eric’s Arista recordings including live takes of “Thirsty Boots” and “Violets of Dawn,” and then features collaborations with fellow legends Lou Reed (“You Can’t Relive the Past”), Richard Thompson (“Hills of Tuscany”), and Rick Danko (“Keep This Love Alive” and “Driftin’ Away,” with the Danko, Fjeld and Andersen band), as well as other recent recordings made in Europe. The collection concludes by coming full circle with his earliest recording, a 1964 duet with Phil Ochs on “Plains of Nebrasky-O” recorded for Smithsonian-Folkways and released on The Best of Broadside collection, bringing Eric all the way back to his Greenwich Village roots. With notes by Anthony DeCurtis of Rolling Stone, photos from Eric’s private collection, a pristine remastering job by Mark Wilder at Battery Studios in New York, and a timely release in anticipation of the release of a new documentary lm, The Songpoet, The Essential Eric Andersen isn’t just the essential work of a major gure in American music—it’s just plain essential.

Disc : 1
1. Everything Ain't Been Said
2. Dusty Box Car Wall
3. (We Were) Foolish Like the Flowers
4. Dream to Rimbaud
5. Secrets
6. I Will Wait
7. Waves of Freedom
8. Mama Tried
9. Is It Really Love at All
10. Florentine
11. Blue River
12. Pearl's Goodtime Blues
13. Woman, She Was Gentle
14. Moonchild River Song
15. Time Run Like a Freight Train
16. Wild Crow Blues
Disc : 2
1. The Blues Keep Fallin' Like the Rain
2. Thirsty Boots
3. Close the Door Lightly When You Go
4. Violets of Dawn
5. Messiah
6. Belgian Bar
7. Trouble in Paris
8. Hills of Tuscany
9. You Can't Relive the Past
10. Rain Falls Down in Amsterdam
11. Keep This Love Alive
12. Driftin' Away
13. Foghorn
14. Salt on Our Skin
15. Don't It Make You Wanna Sing the Blues
16. Under the Shadows
17. Plains of Nebraska-O

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend