« Andre Kostelanetz & His Orchestra The Complete Christmas Albums (2CD-Set) | Main | Badfinger Badfinger (Expanded Edition) CD »

Badfinger Wish You Were Here (Expanded Edition) CD

  • Badfinger Are Generally Considered One of if Not the Greatest Power Pop Band of All Time

  • Four Accomplished Singer-Songwriters in Tom Evans, Mike Gibbins, Pete Ham, and Joey Molland Plus Support from the Beatles Should Have Spelled Superstardom

  • But Management Woes, Band Infighting, and Label Incompetence Held Them Back

  • It All Came to a Head with Their Two Albums for Warner Bros., Where They Headed After Recording Four Albums and Hits Like “Come and Get It,” “No Matter What,” “Day by Day,” and “Baby Blue” for the Beatles’ Apple Imprint

  • Badfinger and Especially Wish You Were Here Are Generally Considered Their Finest Records, but They Were Recorded in the Midst of Chaos, Resulting in the Break-Up of the Band and Personal Tragedy

  • Now, Real Gone Music and Badfinger Biographer Dan Matovina Present the Ultimate Look at These Two Unjustly Overlooked Albums with Deluxe Expanded Editions

  • Ineptly Released by Warner Bros. at the Same Time as Apple Released Ass, Their Last Album for the Label, and Without Any Discernible Album Title, 1973’s Badfinger Sold Poorly

  • But It Boasted Such Solid Tunes as “Lonely You,” “Shine On,” and “Love Is Easy”

  • Expanded Edition Includes the Unreleased Song “Love My Lady,” Plus Nine More Outtakes from the Album Sessions

  • 1975’s Wish You Were Here Is Recognized as Badfinger’s Masterwork

  • But the Release Was Pulled after Seven Weeks Due to Their Manager Squirreling Away Publishing Advance Money, Prompting a Lawsuit by Warner Bros.’s Publishing Arm

  • An Album Without a Weak Track, Highlighted by Ham’s “Dennis,” Molland’s “Love Time,” and Evans’ “King of the Load”

  • Expanded Edition Includes an Unreleased Song, “Queen of Darkness”

  • Also Features Eight New Alternate Mixes with Unused Vocals and Novel Arrangements

  • Both Albums Remastered by Dan Matovina from Original Tapes for the First Time Since Their Maiden Release on CD

  • Liner Notes by Matovina Include Exclusive Quotes from Chris Thomas, Producer of the Two Albums

  • Brilliant, Essential, and Criminally Underrecognized Work, Fully Unveiled

    Order Now! 

    Badfinger: Wish You Were Here (Expanded Edition) CD

    Most folks point to Badfinger as the greatest power pop band of all time. But, with four accomplished songwriters in Tom Evans, Mike Gibbins, Pete Ham, and Joey Molland, and the creative assistance and imprimatur of The Beatles, Badfinger should have been bigger stars than they were. Their four albums for The Beatles’ Apple label get most of the attention, and understandably so, with hits like “Come and Get It,” “No Matter What,” “Day by Day,” and “Baby Blue.” But their subsequent two albums for Warner Bros. represent their true creative peak, reached even as the band—and the lives of the members of the band—fell apart. Now, Real Gone Music, together with Badfinger biographer Dan Matovina, is taking a fresh look at Badfinger’s brilliant but ill-fated Warner Bros. albums, Badfinger and Wish You Were Here. Things went from bad to worse for Badfinger as Warner Bros. ended up pulling their second release after seven weeks in the stores due to their manager squirreling away publishing advance money, prompting a lawsuit by the label’s publishing arm. Yet, somehow in the midst of all the chaos, the band delivered its masterpiece. Recorded by Chris Thomas at the Caribou Ranch studio in Colorado and George Martin’s AIR studio in London, 1975’s Wish You Were Here stands as Badfinger’s most cohesive and powerful artistic statement, with stellar contributions by all four of the band’s songwriters. It’s an album without a weak track, so it’s hard to single out any songs, but Ham’s “Dennis,” Molland’s “Love Time,” and Evans’ “King of the Load” might take the honors. For this Expanded Edition (which offers a new remastering of the album for the first time since it was initially released on CD), we’ve unearthed an unreleased song (“Queen of Darkness”), and uncorked eight new remixes that highlight many un-used vocals and novel instrumental arrangements. Matovina’s notes include exclusive quotes from original producer Chris Thomas. The last and best record with the original line-up, now fully unveiled!

    1. Just A Chance
      2. You're So Fine
      3. Got To Get Out Of Here
      4. Know One Knows
      5. Dennis
      6. In The Meantime/Some Other Time
      7. Love Time
      8. King Of The Load (T)
      9. Meanwhile Back At The Ranch/Should I Smoke
      10. Queen Of Darkness - unreleased song mixed 2018
      11. Just A Chance - alternate mix 2018
      12. Your So Fine - alternate mix 2018
      13. Got To Get Out Of Here - alternate mix 2018
      14. Know One Knows - alternate mix 2018
      15. Dennis - alternate mix 2018
      16. In The Meantime / Some Other Time - alternate mix 2018
      17. Love Time - alternate mix 2018
      18. Meanwhile Back At The Ranch / Should I Smoke - alternate mix 2018
  • PrintView Printer Friendly Version

    EmailEmail Article to Friend