« Badfinger Wish You Were Here (Expanded Edition) CD | Main | Melissa Manchester Mathematics--The MCA Years (2-CD Set) »

Badfinger Badfinger (Expanded Edition) CD

  • Badfinger Are Generally Considered One of if Not the Greatest Power Pop Band of All Time

  • Four Accomplished Singer-Songwriters in Tom Evans, Mike Gibbins, Pete Ham, and Joey Molland Plus Support from the Beatles Should Have Spelled Superstardom

  • But Management Woes, Band Infighting, and Label Incompetence Held Them Back

  • It All Came to a Head with Their Two Albums for Warner Bros., Where They Headed After Recording Four Albums and Hits Like “Come and Get It,” “No Matter What,” “Day by Day,” and “Baby Blue” for the Beatles’ Apple Imprint

  • Badfinger and Especially Wish You Were Here Are Generally Considered Their Finest Records, but They Were Recorded in the Midst of Chaos, Resulting in the Break-Up of the Band and Personal Tragedy

  • Now, Real Gone Music and Badfinger Biographer Dan Matovina Present the Ultimate Look at These Two Unjustly Overlooked Albums with Deluxe Expanded Editions

  • Ineptly Released by Warner Bros. at the Same Time as Apple Released Ass, Their Last Album for the Label, and Without Any Discernible Album Title, 1973’s Badfinger Sold Poorly

  • But It Boasted Such Solid Tunes as “Lonely You,” “Shine On,” and “Love Is Easy”

  • Expanded Edition Includes the Unreleased Song “Love My Lady,” Plus Nine More Outtakes from the Album Sessions

  • 1975’s Wish You Were Here Is Recognized as Badfinger’s Masterwork

  • But the Release Was Pulled after Seven Weeks Due to Their Manager Squirreling Away Publishing Advance Money, Prompting a Lawsuit by Warner Bros.’s Publishing Arm

  • An Album Without a Weak Track, Highlighted by Ham’s “Dennis,” Molland’s “Love Time,” and Evans’ “King of the Load”

  • Expanded Edition Includes an Unreleased Song, “Queen of Darkness”

  • Also Features Eight New Alternate Mixes with Unused Vocals and Novel Arrangements

  • Both Albums Remastered by Dan Matovina from Original Tapes for the First Time Since Their Maiden Release on CD

  • Liner Notes by Matovina Include Exclusive Quotes from Chris Thomas, Producer of the Two Albums

  • Brilliant, Essential, and Criminally Underrecognized Work, Fully Unveiled

    Order Now! 

    Badfinger: Badfinger (Expanded Edition) CD

    Most folks point to Badfinger as the greatest power pop band of all time. But, with four accomplished songwriters in Tom Evans, Mike Gibbins, Pete Ham, and Joey Molland, and the creative assistance and imprimatur of The Beatles, Badfinger should have been bigger stars than they were. Their four albums for The Beatles’ Apple label get most of the attention, and understandably so, with hits like “Come and Get It,” “No Matter What,” “Day by Day,” and “Baby Blue.” But their subsequent two albums for Warner Bros. represent their true creative peak, reached even as the band—and the lives of the members of the band—fell apart. Now, Real Gone Music, together with Badfinger biographer Dan Matovina, is taking a fresh look at Badfinger’s brilliant but ill-fated Warner Bros. albums, Badfinger and Wish You Were Here. Everything seemed rosy when, upon conclusion of their contract with Apple, Badfinger signed a new deal with Warner Bros. in 1973 for a big advance, but right away things went south as the label rushed the band into the studio and ended up releasing Badfinger at about the same time as Apple released the band’s last record for the label, Ass. Not to mention Warner Bros. rejected the band’s title for the record, For Love or Money, leaving the record without any title at all. Of course, commercial confusion ensued, and Badfinger sold poorly, even though it boasted such solid tunes as “Lonely You,” “Shine On,” and “Love Is Easy.” Our Expanded Edition features the unreleased song “Love My Lady,” plus nine more outtakes from the album sessions; it’s the first time the original album’s been remastered (by Matovina from the original master tapes) since its maiden release on CD, while Matovina’s notes include fresh quotes from original producer Chris Thomas!

    1. I Miss You
      2. Shine On
      3. Love Is Easy
      4. Song For A Lost Friend
      5. Why Don't We Talk?
      6. Island
      7. Matted Spam
      8. Where Do We Go From Here?
      9. My Heart Goes Out
      10. Lonely You
      11. Give It Up
      12. Andy Norris
      13. Love My Lady - unreleased song outtake
      14. Shine On - work in progress mix
      15. Song For A Lost Friend - work in progress mix
      16. Island - work in progress mix
      17. Matted Spam - work in progress mix
      18. Where Do We Go From Here - work in progress mix
      19. My Heart Goes Out - work in progress mix
      20. Lonely You - work in progress mix
      21. Give It Up - work in progress mix
      22. Andy Norris - work in progress mix

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend