« Rosemary Clooney I Feel a Song Coming On CD | Main | Samson Shock Tactics (Limited Crimson Loincloth Vinyl Edition). LP »

Jo Stafford It Had to Be You CD

  • Jo Stafford Was One of the Greatest and Most Popular Female Vocalists of the Pre-Rock and Roll Era and Beyond 

  • Perfect Diction, Immaculate Phrasing, and a Tone as Clear as a Bell Were Jo’s Calling Cards During a Five-Decade Career 

  • It Had to Be You—Lost Radio Recordings Presents a Treasure Trove of 24 1950-1951 Performances from The Carnation Contented Hour 

  • Completely Unreleased Recordings Featuring Jo Interpreting Songs, Like “Ain’t Misbehavin’,” “Dream a Little Dream of Me,” and “I’ve Got the World on a String,” That Were Big Hits for Other Artists 

  • These Tracks Come from Tape Sources, Not Transcription Discs, and Therefore Are Studio Quality 

  • Provided to Real Gone Music by the Tony Martin Estate Via Michael Feinstein 

  • Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision 

  • Annotated by Joe Marchese 

  • Rare Photos 

  • A Major Addition to the Jo Stafford Discography


    Possessing a tone as clear as a bell, perfect diction and phrasing, and no shortage of personality, Jo Stafford was one of the greatest and best- selling female singers of the pre-rock and roll era and beyond; whether it’s her early sides with the Tommy Dorsey Orchestra and The Pied Pipers or her classic solo recordings for the Capitol and Columbia labels with arranger/conductor husband Paul Weston, there is no mistaking the sound of that magnificent voice. Now, we at Real Gone Music have a very special treat for fans of this superb, yet to some degree overlooked, vocalist: a treasure trove of 24 radio performances taken from The Carnation Contented Hour, which Jo co- hosted on the Columbia Broadcasting System. These previously unreleased 1950-1951 recordings come to us from the Tony Martin estate courtesy of Michael Feinstein and with the blessing of Jo’s son Tim Weston, and are taken from original master tapes, not transcription discs; remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision, these are studio quality sessions and thus a major, major find in the Jo Stafford discography. It is such a treat to hear Jo interpret songs like “Dream a Little Dream of Me,” “Ain’t Misbehavin’” and “I’ve Got the World on a String” that became big hits for other artists; Joe Marchese’s notes put it all in context along with rare photographs from that golden era.

    1. It Had to Be You
    2. Nevertheless (I'm in Love with You)
    3. Ain't Misbehavin'
    4. I'll Get By
    5. Little Girl Blue
    6. It's a Lovely Day
    7. You Love Me Just as I Love You
    8. Rain
    9. Let's Talk It Over, Dear
    10. Teardrops from My Eyes
    11. I Love the Guy
    12. Orange Colored Sky
    13. Drink to Me Only with Thine Eyes
    14. It's a Marshmallow World
    15. When My Sugar Walks Down the Street
    16. Row, Row, Row
    17. Where, Oh Where
    18. In the Still of the Night
    19. Use Your Imagination
    20. The Old Man of the Mountain
    21. I've Got the World on a String
    22. Dixieland Band
    23. Dream a Little Dream of Me
    24. They Can't Take That Away from Me

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend