« KRIS KRISTOFFERSON & RITA COOLIDGE Full Moon (Expanded Edition) CD | Main | LARRY CORYELL At the Village Gate CD »

JESSE ED DAVIS Red Dirt Boogie—The Atco Recordings 1970-1972 CD

  • Native American Jesse Ed Davis Was One of Rock and Roll’s Greatest Session Guitarists

  • The List of Artists Davis Backed Is Staggering: Conway Twitty, Taj Mahal, Leon Russell, George Harrison, John Lennon, Ringo Starr, Gene Clark, Leonard Cohen, and Jackson Browne to Name a Few

  • Davis Was Signed to Atco in 1970, Right Before He Gained His Greatest Notoriety by Backing George Harrison and Playing “Watching the River Flow” with Leon Russell at the Concert for Bangla Dash

  • Davis Recorded Two Albums for Atco, Jesse Ed Davis and Ululu, Both Roots Rock Classics and Both Out of Print for Years

  • Red Dirt Boogie—The Atco Recordings 1970-1972 Includes 17 Tracks Taken from the Two Albums

  • Also Features Two Unreleased Alternate Takes

  • Liner Notes By Pat Thomas

  • Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision

  • Photos from the Atco Vaults

  • Release Coincides with Davis’ Appearance in the New Documentary Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked the World, Which Explores the Forgotten Role That Native American Musicians Have Played in American Popular Music 


    Jesse Ed Davis: Red Dirt Boogie—The Atco Recordings 1970-1972. CD

    Throughout the 1960s and 70s, Native American guitarist Jesse Ed Davis was the “go-to” sideman for a remarkable group of musicians. Starting in the mid-‘Sixties, he toured with Conway Twitty, then become a key part of Taj Mahal’s band, playing on several albums and tours including an appearance on The Rolling Stones Rock and Roll Circus and his historic pairing with Leon Russell to play on Bob Dylan’s “Watching the River Flow” at the Concert for Bangla Desh (after which he accompanied George Harrison). By now, he’d caught the eye of ATCO Records, which released his debut LP Jesse Davis in 1971 featuring Russell, Eric Clapton, Gram Parsons, Merry Clayton, Ben Sidran, John Simon (producer of The Band), Alan White (of Yes), and many others including Delaney Bramlett behind the mixing desk. A year later, Atco released Ululu containing some of the same all-stars, plus Duck Dunn, Jim Keltner, and Dr. John – and a version of George Harrison’s “Sue Me, Sue You Blues” before even George recorded it. Next up, Jesse become John Lennon’s guitarist on Walls and Bridges and Rock n Roll, plus Harrison’s Extra Texture and Ringo Starr’s Goodnight Vienna. Davis also produced and played on Gene Clark’s 1971 album White Light and appeared on Clark’s No Other, Leonard Cohen’s Death of a Ladies’ Man, and that’s Jesse taking the solo on Jackson Browne’s 1972 breakout hit “Doctor My Eyes.” Despite his status as one of the all-time great session guitarists, Jesse Ed Davis’s solo LPs have been out of print for years and hard to find on CD—so for the very first time, the best of the ATCO material has been collected together,coupled with some unreleased gems from the Atlantic Records vault! Real Gone Music proudly presents Jesse Ed Davis: Red Dirt Boogie—The Atco Recordings 1970-72, a 19-track collection featuring liner notes (festooned with photos from the Atco vaults) by Pat Thomas that trace the ups and downs of this supremely talented musician whose life ended tragically at the age of 43 from a drug overdose . Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision to bring out every stinging lead! The timing couldn’t be more perfect, as Davis is featured in a new documentary that debuted at Sundance a few months ago: Rumble: The Indians Who Rocked the World— including Robbie Robertson and John Trudell.

    1. Every Night Is Saturday Night
    2. Washita Love Child
    3. Red Dirt Boogie, Brother
    4. Rock N Roll Gypsies 
    5. Farther On Down the Road
    6. Reno Street Incident
    7. Sue Me, Sue You Blues
    8. You Belladonna You
    9. Crazy Love
    10. Ululu
    11. Alcatraz
    12. White Line Fever
    13. Tulsa County
    14. Strawberry Wine
    15. My Captain
    16. Make a Joyful Noise
    17. Golden Sun Goddess
    18. Rock N Roll Gypsies
    19. Kiowa Teepee (Washita Love Child

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend