« Dionne Warwick Odds & Ends--Scepter Records Rarities CD | Main | Sleepless in Seattle Original Motion Picture Soundtrack (Limited Blue Vinyl Edition). LP »

Denny Doherty Of All the Things—The Complete ABC/Dunhill Masters. CD

Though Perhaps the Least Recognized Member of The Mamas and The Papas, Denny Doherty Arguably Had the Best Voice in the Group

But His Solo Career Never Got the Attention It Deserved

For Example, His 1971 Solo Album Watcha Gonna Do Was Only Reissued in Japan in 2002, and Commands Huge Figures Online

Now, Real Gone Music Not Only Presents the First Domestic CD Reissue of Watcha Gonna Do, but Also Adds Six Bonus Tracks to Create a New Collection, Of All the Things—The Complete ABC/Dunhill Masters

Includes an Unreleased Track (“Shadows on My Wall”) from the Album Sessions, a Non-LP Single Side (“To Claudia on Thursday,” with Supporting Vocals by Spanky McFarlane), and Four Unreleased Songs Recorded in 1972

Features Such Sidemen as Barry McGuire, Buddy Emmons, Russ Kunkel, “Fast” Eddy Fischer, and Eric “The Doctor” Hord

Liner Notes by Joe Marchese Offer Quotes from Eddy Fischer, Denny’s Daughters, Producer Bill Szymczyk, Mama Michelle Phillips, and Others

Unseen Period Photos
Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision Long-Lost, Classic Roots Rock 


Denny Doherty: Of All the Things—The Complete ABC/Dunhill Masters. CD

Almost to the day we released our The Mamas and The Papas: Complete Singles—50th Anniversary Collection back in January 2016, fans of the group (and they are legion!) started asking us about reissuing Papa Denny Doherty’s criminally overlooked 1971 solo album on the ABC/Dunhill label, Watcha Gonna Do. This record came out on CD only in Japan back in 2002, and commands hundreds of dollars online, so a straight reissue would have worked just fine. But that’s not how we do things at Real Gone Music…and so we aren’t stopping with the album. We’re adding six bonus tracks, five of ‘em previously unreleased, to fashion a brand-new compilation, Of All the Things—The Complete ABC/Dunhill Masters! Arranged by Jimmie Haskell, produced by Bill Szymczyk, and featuring songs written by Denny with his first wife Linda Woodward with such session players as Barry McGuire, Buddy Emmons, Russ Kunkel, “Fast” Eddy Fischer, and Eric “The Doctor” Hord, Watcha Gonna Do is truly a lost gem of early ‘70s roots rock, sort of The Mamas and Papas meeting The Band and The Eagles (Szymczyk went on to produce all of The Eagles albums). The bonus tracks include the rare single of the non-LP track “To Claudia on Thursday”—with additional vocals supplied by Spanky McFarlane of Spanky & Our Gang—plus five other tracks unearthed from both album session tapes and follow-up recordings left in the vaults. Joe Marchese provides liner notes featuring quotes and reminiscences from Eddy Fischer, Denny’s daughters, Bill Szymczyk, Michelle Phillips, and others. Artwork includes previously unpublished period photographs. Remastered by Mike Milchner/Sonic Vision, this release is a must for any fan of The Mamas and The Papas and of that gorgeous Doherty tenor!


 1. Watcha Gonna Do
  2. Neighbors
  3. Gathering the Words
  4. Don't You Be Fooled
  5. Got a Feelin'
  6. Tuesday Morning
  7. Still Can't Hear the Music
  8. Hey Good Looking
  9. The Drummer's Song
  10. Here Comes the Sun/The Two of Us
  11. Shadows on My Wall
  12. To Claudia on Thursday
  13. Sail the Waterway
  14. Shadow Sounds
  15. Giles of the River
  16. Of All the Things


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend