« Clint Walker Inspiration (Expanded Edition) CD | Main | Artful Dodger The Complete Columbia Recordings (2-CD Set) »

Ann-Margret The Definitive Collection (2-CD Set)

  • Ann-Margret Was THE Early‘60s Bombshell

  • But Her Beauty Took a Back Seat to Her Singing, Dancing, and Acting Talent

  • Her High-Wattage Charisma Led RCA to Groom Her as the Female Elvis—and Landed Her a Role Opposite The King in Viva Las Vegas

  • The Definitive Collection Is the First Comprehensive Retrospective of Her Classic 1961-1966 RCA Recordings

  • Two CDs, 30 Tracks Taken from Nine Different Albums Plus Singles

  • Includes Chart Hits Like like “I Just Don’t Understand,” “It Do Me So Good,” and “What Am I Supposed to Do”

  • Also Features Two Duets with Elvis from Viva Las Vegas, “You’re the Boss” and “The Lady Loves Me,” That Col. Tom Parker Withheld from Commercial Release Because He Feared Ann-Margret Would Overshadow The King

  • ContainsFourTracksfromBeautyandtheBeard, Her Hit Collaboration with Trumpeter Al Hirt, Plus Soundtrack Recordings from Bye Bye Birdie, Every Night at Eight, Thunderball, The Swinger, and The Pleasure Seekers

  • Liner Notes by Joe Marchese

  • Includes Vintage Album Artwork

  • Viva Ann-Margret! 


    Ann-Margret: The Definitive Collection (2-CD Set)

    She was the ultimate bombshell, a Swedish seductress with hair of flame, a fulsome figure, and a taste for Triumph motorcycles. But with Ann-Margret, her irresistible beauty took a back seat to her incandescent talent; this was no mere starlet, but a performer whose singing, dancing, and acting skills—all imbued with a devil-may-care charisma—caused record execs to groom her as the female Elvis Presley. Now, finally, here is a comprehensive collection that captures those magical early days of Ann-Margret’s career, a 2-CD set that includes 30 tracks carefully chosen from her 1961-1966 RCA recordings. Among the featured tracks: chart hits like “I Just Don’t Understand,” “It Do Me So Good,” and “What Am I Supposed to Do;” her famous duets with Elvis from Viva Las Vegas, “You’re the Boss” and “The Lady Loves Me” (which, as legend has it, Col. Tom Parker withheld from commercial release because he was afraid Ann-Margret would overshadow The King); four tracks from Beauty and the Beard, her charting album with trumpeter Al Hirt; soundtrack recordings from Bye Bye Birdie, Every Night at Eight, Thunderball, The Swinger, and The Pleasure Seekers; and much more. In fact, these 30 songs—which include single sides as well—hail from nine different albums, and liner note writer Joe Marchese walks you through each and every one of them on this sumptuous package, which includes vintage album artwork. An earful and an eye-ful…viva Ann-Margret!

    Disc : 1
    1. Teach Me Tonight
    2. I Just Don't Understand
    3. It Do Me So Good
    4. Heartbreak Hotel
    5. Fever
    6. What Am I Supposed to Do
    7. Bachelor in Paradise
    8. Mr. Wonderful
    9. Let Me Entertain You
    10. How Lovely to Be a Woman
    11. Bye Bye Birdie
    12. Take All the Kisses
    13. I'm in the Mood for Love
    14. You're the Boss
    15. The Lady Loves Me
    Disc : 2
    1. Man's Favorite Sport
    2. I'm Nobody's Baby
    3. Bill Bailey
    4. My Baby Just Cares for Me
    5. Mack the Knife
    6. Love Makes the World Go Round
    7. Our Language of Love
    8. The Pleasure Seekers
    9. Next Time
    10. Something to Think About
    11. Everything Makes Music When You're in Love
    12. Mister Kiss Kiss Bang Bang
    13. That Old Black Magic
    14. I Wanna Be Loved
    15. The Swinger

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend