« El Topo Soundtrack Album (Limited “Coke Bottle” Clear Vinyl Edition) LP | Main | Sea Level Sea Level/Long Walk on a Short Pier »

Patty Duke The Complete Album Collection (2-CD Set)

  • With Critically and Popularly Acclaimed Roles in The Miracle Worker and The Patty Duke Show, Patty Duke Was America’s Most Popular Teenager in the Early and Mid-‘60s

  • Her Fame on Screen Resulted in a Recording Contract with United Artists, Where She Recorded Four Albums

  • The Complete Album Collection Includes All Four Albums (Don’t Just Stand There, Patty, Patty Duke Sings Songs from Valley of the Dolls, and Patty Duke Sings Folk Songs)

  • Patty Duke Sings Folk Songs Was Never Commercially Released

  • Also Includes Bonus Tracks

  • 48 Tracks in All

  • Mastered from Original Tapes

  • Liner Notes Include Quotes from Patty Duke Herself

  • A Timely Tribute to the Late, Great Legend 


    Patty Duke: The Complete Album Collection (2-CD Set)

    There was a lot of competition in the mid-‘60s for the title of America’s Most Popular Teenager, but a convincing case can be made that Patty Duke was IT. In 1962, at the age of 16, she became the youngest actress ever to win an Academy Award for her portrayal of Helen Keller in the film The Miracle Worker, a role she originated on Broadway. Then, in 1963, she was given her own series, The Patty Duke Show, in which she played two different leading roles of “identical cousins” (an ironic circumstance given Patty’s bouts of manic depression and her later championing of the cause). Like so many teen stars before and after her, stardom on television quickly translated into a recording contract and appearances on The Ed Sullivan Show, Shindig! and The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour, resulting in four albums for United Artists, all of which we are reissuing with bonus tracks. Don’t Just Stand There and Patty came out in 1965 and 1966, respectively; besides the first album’s Top Ten title track, they included the hits “Say Something Funny” and “Whenever She Holds You” (we’ve included another hit, “Funny Little Butterflies,” as a bonus track). 1967’s Sings Songs from Valley of the Dolls was a darker, more mature album as befitting her controversial role in the film Valley of the Dolls; we’ve paired that album with the never-before released album of folk songs she recorded with United Artists in 1968. All four albums are taken from the original master tapes; they feature additional photos and liner notes with quotes from Patty Duke herself. Long-lost music from one of the truly iconic figures in ‘60s pop culture

    1. Disk : 1

    1. Don't Just Stand There

    2. Why Don't They Understand

    3. Downtown

    4. Danke Schöen

    5. Everything but Love

    6. A World Without Love

    7. Say Something Funny

    8. Too Young

    9. What the World Needs Now Is Love

    10. Save Your Heart for Me

    11. Ribbons & Roses

    12. The End of the World

    13. Funny Little Butterflies

    14. Lonely Little In-Between

    15. The World Is Watching Us

    16. Yesterday

    17. All Through the Day

    18. Whenever She Holds You

    19. Little Things Mean a Lot

    20. One Kiss Away

    21. I Love How You Love Me

    22. Sure Gonna Miss Him

    23. All I Have to Do Is Dream

    24. Nothing but You

    Disk : 2

    1. It's Impossible

    2. Come Live with Me

    3. Give a Little More

    4. I'll Plant My Own Tree

    5. Theme from Valley of the Dolls

    6. My Own Little Place

    7. Half-Hearted Kisses

    8. Roses Are Red

    9. A Million Things to Do

    10. Forever Yours

    11. Learn to Live with Your Heartbreak

    12. I Want Your Love

    13. Colors

    14. The Cruel War

    15. The Best Is Yet to Come

    16. And We Were Strangers

    17. Puff the Magic Dragon

    18. The Bells of Rhymney

    19. Time to Move On

    20. Dona, Dona

    21. Shine for Me

    22. The Housewife's Lament

    23. Johnny, I Hardly Knew Ye

    24. Blowin' in the Wind

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend