Tuesday, March 15, 2016 at 12:01PM
[Your Name Here]
  • Composed of Bassist Tim Bogert and Drummer Carmine Appice from Vanilla Fudge, Rusty Day from The Amboy Dukes, and Jim McCarty of The Detroit Wheels, Cactus Was the Hardest-Rocking Supergroup of All Time

  • Their 1970 Debut Record Featured Scorching Versions of “Parchman Farm” and “You Can’t Judge a Book by the Cover,” as Well as Rabid Originals Like “Let Me Swim” and “Oleo”

  • One of the Great Guitar Shredding Albums of All Time Courtesy of Guitarist McCarty

  • First-Ever Vinyl Reissue

  • Original Cover and Label Art

  • Limited Edition of 700 Copies in 180-Gram Black Vinyl 


    CACTUS: Cactus (Limited 180-Gram Vinyl Edition). LP

    Finally back on vinyl where it belongs comes the 1970 debut record from the supercharged supergroup that melted minds and loudspeakers (not necessarily in that order)! We’re talking Cactus, people, with the Vanilla Fudge rhythm section of bassist Tim Bogert and drummer Carmine Appice, Amboy Dukes vocalist Rusty Day, and, oh yes, the AMAZING guitarist Jim McCarty, late of the Detroit Wheels but somehow reincarnated here as the speed freak spawn of Alvin Lee, Jeff Beck, and Jimmy Page. McCarty’s frenetic soloing with an impossibly overdriven tone that Jack White only dreams of matching powers (and we do mean POWERS) incredible versions of “Parchman Farm” and “You Can’t Judge a Book by the Cover” as well as bloozy, boogie-in’ originals like “Let Me Swim” and “Oleo.” Our Real Gone reissue comes in a limited edition (of 700) 180-gram edition that captures every bit of the glorious sonic excess with the original cover art intact (hey, is that cactus giving you the finger?). TURN IT UP!


    1. Parchman Farm

    2. My Lady from South of Detroit

    3. Bro. Bill

    4. You Can’t Judge a Book by the Cover

    5. Let Me Swim

    6. No Need to Worry

    7. Oleo

    8. Feel So Good

Article originally appeared on Real Gone Music (
See website for complete article licensing information.