« MARGARET WHITING: The Complete London Recordings (2-CD Set) | Main | O’JAYS: Back Stabbers (Limited 180-Gram Black Vinyl Edition) LP »

THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH: The Complete I.R.S. Albums Collection (3-CD Set)

--The Lords of the New Church Were Punk’s Supergroup: Stiv Bators of the Dead Boys, Brian James of the Damned, Dave Tregugna of Sham 69 and Nick Turner of the Barracudas

--Their First Three Albums, All Recorded for the I.R.S Label, Are Considered to Be Post-Punk Classics

--New 3-CD Set Includes All Three Albums

--All Three Albums Feature Liner Notes by Scott Schinder

--Added Photos


THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH: The Complete I.R.S. Albums Collection (3-CD Set)

Phrases don’t get much more oxymoronic than “punk supergroup,” but The Lords of the New Church had a pedigree no punk band could match. Lead singer Stiv Bators had spearheaded the Dead Boys, one of America’s preeminent young, loud, and snotty outfits, while guitarist Brian James was the guitarist for the Damned, who, along with the Sex Pistols and the Clash, were in the first wave and first rank of Britain’s punk groups. The rest of the band were no slouches, either; bassist Dave Tregugna and drummer Nick Turner hailed from Sham 69 and the Barracudas, respectively, two acts not quite as hallowed but each highly-esteemed.  Anticipation was high among the leather jacket and Mohawk set, therefore, when their debut album came out in 1982, but the Lords, secure in their punk bona-fides, brought a highly stylized look and a new melodic polish to the music, which alienated some followers but brought a whole new element into their fan base. Furthermore, what the music lacked in fury, the band made up for with incendiary live shows which often ended up with Bators doing physical harm to himself (and reputedly being clinically dead for several minutes after one gig). Now, Real Gone Music is offering the first three, classic albums that the band recorded for the I.R.S. label (and the only ones recorded by the original line-up)—The Lords of the New Church, Is Nothing Sacred?, and The Method to Our Madness—in one nicely-priced 3-CD set. Each album comes complete with notes by Scott Schinder, too—get a big chunk of seminal post-punk in one fell swoop!


 Disc One

The Lords of the New Church

1.   New Church

2.   Russian Roulette

3.   Question of Temperature

4.   Eat Your Heart Out

5.   Portobello

6.   Open Your Eyes

7.   Livin’ on Livin’

8.   Li’l Boys Play with Dolls

9.   Apocalypso

10. Holy War

 Disc Two

Is Nothing Sacred?

1.   Dance with Me

2.   Bad Timing

3.   Johnny Too Bad

4.   Don’t Worry Children

5.   The Night Is Calling

6.   Black Girl White Girl

7.   Goin’ Downtown

8.   Tale of Two Cities

9.   World Without End

10. Partners in Crime

11. Live for Today

 Disc Three

The Method to Our Madness 

1.   Method to My Madness

2.   I Never Believed

3.   Pretty Baby Scream

4.   S.F. & T.

5.   When Blood Runs Cold

6.   Murder Style

7.   The Seducer

8.   Kiss of Death

9.   Do What Thou Will

10. My Kingdom Come

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend