Wednesday, August 12, 2015 at 11:24AM
[Your Name Here]




The Soulful Strings : The Magic of Christmas. CD

The Soulful Strings were without a doubt the hippest project ever to emerge from the ‘60s with the word “Strings” in its name. Brainchild of producer/arranger/bassist/songwriter (and genius) Richard Evans, the group was a far cry from the interchangeable outfits that flourished during the “beautiful music” era; instead, The Soulful Strings were actually composed of members of the Chess/Cadet label house band, including flautist Lennie Druss, guitarist Phil Upchurch, bassist/cellist Cleveland Eaton and harpist Dorothy Ashby, who laid down a tasty electric groove into which Evans stirred lush strings and unusual instrumentation like the kalimba and sitar.  The result was a sound that resided at the crossroads of easy listening, jazz, R&B and exotica—and, as one might expect from that description, every Soulful Strings release (they made seven albums) is treasured by cratediggers worldwide. This 1968 release was their highest-charting record at #35 on the charts, and appears on CD for the first time anywhere in the world, with liner notes by Gene Sculatti. The soundtrack to many a swingin’ ‘60s Christmas party.

1. The Little Drummer Boy

2.  Snowfall

3. Dance of the Sugarplum Fairy from Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker Suite

4. Deck the Halls

5. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town

6. Sleigh Ride

7. Merry Christmas Baby

8. Jingle Bells

9. The Christmas Song

10. Parade of the Wooden Soldiers 



Article originally appeared on Real Gone Music (
See website for complete article licensing information.