Banana and the Bunch
Tuesday, May 5, 2015 at 12:45PM
[Your Name Here]


BANANA AND THE BUNCH: Mid-Mountain-Ranch (Limited Mini LP Sleeve Edition) CD

Recorded right after the Youngbloods broke up, and released on their own Raccoon label, 1972’s Mid-Mountain-Ranch was the sole solo album from the band’s multi-instrumentalist Banana a.k.a. Lowell Levinger. Except that it wasn’t really a solo album, because the Bunch included Joe Bauer and Michael Kane from Banana’s former outfit! So, Mid-Mountain-Ranch really was a Youngbloods album sans Jesse Colin Young; and the absence of their former front man allows Banana and his Bunch to stretch out with some bluegrass and jazz licks alongside their patented folk rock sound. It’s something of an early alt-country cult classic, reissued here on CD for the first time ever in a limited-edition mini LP sleeve that re-creates the original packaging right down to the label on the CD. LIMITED EDITION OF 1000!


  1. My True Life Blues
  2. Vanderbilt’s Lament
  3. Interlude
  4. Double Interlude
  5. Sittin’ Alone in the Moonlight
  6. In Foggy Old London
  7. Before the Sun Goes Down
  8. New Sail Away Ladies
  9. Ocean of Diamonds
  10. Familiar Patterns
  11. Great Blue Heron
  12. Honky Tonk Blues
  13. Lucas Valley Breakdown
  14. The Rights of Man
Article originally appeared on Real Gone Music (
See website for complete article licensing information.