« New Web Store | Main | GRATEFUL DEAD: DICK’S PICKS VOL. 08 »


  • Billy Ward and His Dominoes Were Probably the Most Popular R&B Vocal Group of the Early ‘50s

  • The Dominoes Launched Clyde McPhatter and Jackie Wilson to Stardom

  • The Complete Federal/King Singles Is Easily the Most Comprehensive Collection Devoted to Their Work

  • 58 Tracks Including Every Single Side Recorded for the Federal and King Labels, Home to All but One of Their R&B Hits

  • Features Such Legendary Tracks as “Sixty- Minute Man. “Have Mercy Baby,” “The Bells,” “Pedal Pushin’ Papa,” and “Rags to Riches”

  • Also Includes a Number of Tracks Making Their CD Debut

  • Spans the Years 1951 to 1965

  • 5000-Word Essay by Bill Dahl

  • Added Photos

  • Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision

  • The Definitive Retrospective 


    BILLY WARD AND HIS DOMINOES: The Complete Federal/King Singles (2-CD Set)

    Presenting 58 tracks from the group that launched both Clyde McPhatter and Jackie Wilson to stardom, Billy Ward and His Dominoes: The Complete Federal/King Singles is the most comprehensive, legitimate collection of this all-time great vocal group ever assembled. The Dominoes—under the steely guidance of pianist, bandleader and ex-military man Billy Ward—were a hit-making machine during the early ‘50s, probably the most popular R&B vocal group of the era, and this 2-CD set offers all 58 single sides (with a number of songs making their CD debut) that they recorded for the King and Federal labels, home to all but one of their R&B hits. The whole thing kicks off with their first smash, “Do Something for Me,” followed shortly by a contender for the first rock ‘n’ roll record ever made, the hilariously ribald “Sixty-Minute Man,” plus other smashes like “Have Mercy Baby,” “The Bells,” “Pedal Pushin’ Papa” and “Rags to Riches” before winding up with the four single sides the group recorded (with different personnel, but hey, we said complete!) during its brief 1965 reincarnation on the King label. Vocal group expert Bill Dahl pens a 5000-word essay punctuated by photos, and the package is remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision. A hugely important retrospective of a hugely important act in the annals of R&B and rock.


    Disc One

  1. Do Something For Me
  2. Chicken Blues
  3. No! Says My Heart
  4. Harbor Lights
  5. Sixty-Minute Man
  6. I Can’t Escape From You
  7. Weeping Willow Blues
  8. I Am With You
  9. That’s What You’re Doing To Me
  10. When The Swallows Come Back To Capistrano
  11. Have Mercy Baby
  12. Deep Sea Blues
  13. Love, Love, Love
  14. I’d Be Satisfied
  15. No Room
  16. Yours Forever
  17. I’m Lonely
  18. The Bells
  19. Pedal Pushin’ Papa
  20. These Foolish Things Remind Me Of You
  21. Don’t Leave Me This Way
  22. You Can’t Keep A Good Man Down
  23. Where Now Little Heart
  24. Rags To Riches
  25. Don’t Thank Me
  26. Christmas In Heaven
  27. Ringing In A Brand New Year
  28. Until The Real Thing Comes Along

Disc Two

  1. My Baby’s 3-D
  2. I’m Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town
  3. Tootsie Roll
  4. Tenderly
  5. A Little Lie
  6. Handwriting On The Wall
  7. One Moment With You
  8. Three Coins In The Fountain
  9. Lonesome Road
  10. Little Things Mean A Lot
  11. Really Don’t Want To Know
  12. Above Jacob’s Ladder
  13. Little Black Train
  14. Can’t Do Sixty No More
  15. If I Never Get To Heaven
  16. Love Me Now Or Let Me Go
  17. Cave Man
  18. Learnin’ The Blues
  19. May I Never Love Again
  20. Give Me You
  21. Over The Rainbow
  22. Bobby Sox Baby
  23. How Long, How Long Blues
  24. St. Louis Blues
  25. Lay It On The Line
  26. That’s How You Know You’re Growing Old
  27. I’m Walking Behind You
  28. This Love Of Mine
  29. O Holy Night
  30. What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend