• Dick’s Picks Vol. 12 Combines the Second Sets of Two Different Nights to Create a Superlative Document of the “Wall of Sound” tour

• Features One of the Greatest Performances of “China Cat Sunflower” Extant

• Also Includes One of the Dead’s Most Historic Jams, a 27-Minute, Telepathic Improvisation Coming Out of a Beautiful “Weather Report Suite”

• Second Set from the Second Night Begins with the Rarely-Performed Electronic Music Piece “Seastones,” and Includes a Separation of the “Sunshine Daydream” Section from “Sugar Magnolia” for Only the Second Time Ever

• Out of Print for Years 


GRATEFUL DEAD: Dick’s Picks Vol. 12—Providence Civic Center 6/26/74 & Boston Garden 6/28/74 (3-CD Set)

Combining the second sets of two different nights is not standard operating procedure for the Dick’s Picks series of live Dead shows, but this volume is the exception that proves the rule—the playing is so extraordinary, and the repertoire so unusual, that one can understand why Dick Latvala played more curator than archivist on Vol. 12. The first disc picks up the second set from Providence three songs in, featuring a short jam that leads into what many have labeled the most extraordinary live version of “China Cat Sunflower” ever recorded, complete with a sublime transition (“Mud Love Buddy Jam” a.k.a. “Mind Left Body Jam”) into “I Know You Rider.” The revelatory moments continue throughout the Providence set, highlighted by a dazzling, 15-minute “Spanish Jam.” But the second set of the Boston show—which appears here complete, beginning on CD two after a superb encore performance of “Eyes of the World” from Providence—is the one that has passed into legend among Dead fans (that it begins with a rare performance of Phil Lesh and Ned Lagin’s electronic music piece “Seastones” gives you an idea of what an adventurous night this was). The set boasts one of the most renowned live jams of the band’s career, a flawless, 14-minute  “Weather Report Suite: Prelude/Pt. 1/Pt. 2-Let It Grow” leading into a 27-minute “Jam” that is simply one of the most far-ranging, telepathic improvisations ever played by, well, anybody. That this set also includes a separation of the “Sunshine Daydream” section from “Sugar Magnolia” for only the second time ever is just gravy. Out of print for years and a must for your Dead collection (oh, and did we mention this was a Wall of Sound concert?)!


Disc One


 1. Jam

2. China Cat Sunflower

3. Mud Love Buddy Jam a.k.a. Mind Left Body Jam

4. I Know You Rider

5. Beer Barrel Polka

6. Truckin’

7. Other One Jam

8. Spanish Jam

9. Wharf Rat

10. Sugar Magnolia

Disc Two

Providence (cont.)

1. Eyes of the World 


2. Seastones

3. Sugar Magnolia

4. Scarlet Begonias

5. Big River

6. To Lay Me Down

7. Me and My Uncle

8. Row Jimmy

Disc Three

Boston (cont.)

1. Weather Report Suite: Prelude/Pt. 1/Pt. 2-Let It Grow

2. Jam

3. U.S. Blues

4. Promised Land

5. Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad

6. Sunshine Daydream

7. Ship of Fools


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend