« The Browns | Main | George Braith »

Ahmed Abdul Malik

  • Rare 1965 Release on the Status Label from Thelonious Monk's Bassist

  • CD Debut

  • Unique Blend of Jazz and Middle Eastern Flavors

  • Liner Notes by Scott Yanow

    Selected by Dusty Groove

Ahmed Abdul Malik: Spellbound. CD

A mindblowing mix of jazz and Middle Eastern influences— and a rare ‘60s treasure from Thelonious Monk's former bassist! Ahmed Abdul-Malik blends together percussion, bass, and oud with some soulful solo work from Seldon Powell on tenor and flute, and Ray Nance on cornet— stretching out over long tracks with an exotic vibe. The complete, original 1965 release on the Status label, with new liner notes by Scott Yanow!




1.  Spellbound

2.  Never on Sunday

3.  Body and Soul

4.  Song of Delilah

5.  Cinema Blues

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend