« The Diary of Anne Frank | Main | Chet Atkins & Les Paul »

Margaret Whiting

Together with Peggy Lee, Margaret Whiting was the only female vocalist to have hits in the ‘40s, ‘50s and even in the late ‘60s, when the rock and roll sound sidetracked the career of most of her peers. But unlike Peggy, Margaret’s ‘60s recordings—made with producer Arnold Goland and released on the London label—have remained unissued in the digital era. Now, Real Gone Music, in conjunction with the Whiting estate, is reissuing Margaret’s COMPLETE London recordings in two 25-track volumes, with notes by highly esteemed music critic Will Friedwald and pictures from the Whiting family’s private archive. The pop vocal find of the year!

  • Margaret Whiting's Complete '60s Recordings for the London Label, on CD for the First Time
  • Wheel Of Hurt Hit the Charts in 1967 and Its Title Tune Was a Top 40 Hit
  • Two Releases Feature a Total of 49 Songs and Seven Chart Hits
  • Includes 13 Rare Single Sides and Three Unreleased Tracks
  • Notes by Will Friedwald
  • Includes Photos Supplied from the Whiting Family Archives
  • All Three Albums Remastered from Original Stereo Master Tapes by Mike Milchner at Sonic Vision


MARGARET WHITING: Maggie Isn’t Margaret Anymore/Pop Country. CD

This release marks the CD debuts for both Margaret’s 1967 album Maggie Isn’t Margaret Anymore and her 1968 album Pop Country, both remastered from the original stereo master tapes, to which we’ve appended four unreleased tracks. More groovy sounds from one of the all-time great songbirds, with notes by Will Friedwald and photos from the Whiting family’s private archive!



Maggie Isn’t Margaret Anymore 

1. Only Love Can Break A Heart

2. There's A Kind Of Hush

3. My Cup Runneth Over

4. Just Like A Man

5. By Now

6. I Remember You

7. This Is My Song

8. Somethin' Stupid

9. Here To Stay

10. Because

11. If This Is Goodbye

Pop Country

12. I Hate To See Me Go

13. Release Me

14. I Love You So Much It Hurts

15. I Can't Help It (If I'm Still In Love With You)

16. I Can't Stop Loving You

17. I Almost Called Your Name

18. You Don't Know Me

19. Gentle On My Mind

20. It Keeps Right On A Hurtin'

21. Am I Losing You


22.I'm Losing My Mind (previously unreleased)

23. Boys Fall In Love (previously unreleased)

24.The Heart Of A Sailor (previously unreleased)

25. Believe in Me




MARGARET WHITING: The Wheel of Hurt (Deluxe Edition) CD

Margaret’s first album for London—remastered from the original stereo master tapes—incorporated contemporary and country influences (to which she was no stranger, having charted with all those Jimmy Wakely duets in the ‘40s and ‘50s) into her sound and scored a Top 40 hit with the title track in 1966. We’ve added a full 13 rare single sides including her German-language version of “Wheel of Hurt” for a total of 25 tracks, all on CD for the first time! Includes notes by Will Friedwald and photos from the Whiting family’s private archive. 


The Wheel of Hurt

1. The Wheel of Hurt

2. You Don't Have To Say You Love Me

3. The World Inside Your Arms

4. Winchester Cathedral

5. Somewhere There's Love

6. Where Do I Stand

7. It Hurts To Say Goodbye

8. Time After Time

9. Show Me A Man

10. You Won't Be Sorry, Baby

11. Nothing Lasts Fovever

12. But Why

Bonus Single Sides

13. Let's Pretend  

14. Faithfully

15. Can't Get You Out Of My Mind

16. Maybe Just One More

17. Where Was I

18. Love's The Only Answer

19. At The Edge Of The Ocean

20. Love Has A Way

21. ("Z" Theme) Life Goes On

22. Until It's Time For You To Go

23. I'll Tell Him Today

24. The Wheel of Hurt (German version)

25. Nothing Lasts Forever (German Version)


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend