« GRATEFUL DEAD: Dick’s Picks Vol. 28 | Main | 20/20 »


  • Features the Huge Hit "Smoke from a Distant Fire"

  • CD Debut for Nail Me to the Wall

  • Liner Notes by Gene Sculatti Feature an Interview with John Townsend 

First 35 customers to order the CD from us will get a booklet signed by Ed Sanford and Johnny Townsend ! First come first serve. AUTOGRAPHED COPIES ARE NOW SOLD OUT but the regular version is still available. 

Order Now!

SANFORD AND TOWNSEND: Smoke from a Distant Fire/Nail Me to the Wall. CD

Is there any song that sums up the late ’70s music scene like “Smoke from a Distant Fire?” It had that blue-eyed soul, high-gloss L.A. production sound of the Doobie Brothers, Kenny Loggins and other superstars of the era, with the kind of hook only real pros could create. For, as is often the case with so-called "overnight sensations," Ed Sanford and John Townsend had spent years in the music business before hitting it big with “Smoke.” Indeed, the sound of this record was no accident; the duo had worked with both Michael McDonald and Kenny Loggins (who repays the favor with a great vocal on “Oriental Gate”) before cutting this 1977 release, whose sound also benefited from the nonpareil production skills of the great Jerry Wexler and Barry Beckett. We’ve paired it with their 1979 album Nail Me to the Wall, which was released under the name Sanford & Townsend Band and makes its CD debut here; their final release, it didn’t enjoy the same chart success as its predecessor but does offer the same studio-perfect, West Coast ‘70s pop. Gene Sculatti’s liner notes and photos feature an interview with John Townsend, too!


Smoke from a Distant Fire

1.   Smoke from a Distant Fire

2.   Moolah Moo Mazuma (Sin City Wahh-oo)

3.   Oriental Gate (No Change of Changin’ My Mind)

4.   Shake It to the Right

5.   Squire James

6.   Does It Have to Be You

7.   Lou

8.   Sunshine in My Heart Again

9.   In for the Night

10. Rainbows Colored in Blue


Nail Me to the Wall

11. Nail Me to the Wall

12. Gopher Broke

13. Every Day

14. Shady Grove

15. Jubilee

16. Just Another Lie

17. Just a Fool

18. Hour of Love

19. Tell Me How Love Survives

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend