Wishbone Ash
Wednesday, February 15, 2012 at 8:59PM
[Your Name Here]

One of our most popular releases to date has been Wishbone Ash’s Live Dates II, and no wonder—it’s one of the best and best-sounding live albums of the ‘80s. And the man behind much of that sound was also the man behind the Gibson Flying V, Mr. Andy Powell, one of the group’s two original guitarists and one of the truly great blues-rock axemen (Rolling Stone voted him among the Top 20 Guitarists of All Time). Now, Andy has put down his axe and picked up his pen to sign 50 CD booklets, which we are offering to the first 50 customers to buy Live Dates II from us. You’d have to be “F.U.B.B.” to pass this deal up!

Wishbone Ash: Live Dates II CD ORDER NOW!

• Classic Live Album Never Before Released in the U.S. In Any Format

• Includes the Bonus Material That Only Appeared on First 25,000 Copies Pressed

• Features Original Gatefold Art and New Liner Notes by Scott Schinder

• The Definitive Document of the Andy Powell-Laurie Wisefield- Martin Turner-Steve Upton Line-Up

• 79 Minutes of Twin-Guitar Magic

When band has not one, not two, but three releases entitled Live Dates, it’s a pretty good bet that the band in question is pretty good in concert. And in the case of Wishbone Ash, that’s an understatement; various line-ups of the group have been rocking the globe with their patented brand of twin-guitar hard/progressive rock for 40 years now. Though Live Dates (1973)  charted, and Live Dates III  (2001) is well thought-of by their fanbase, it’s Live Dates II (released in 1980 and assembled from various 1976-1980 shows) that’s considered the real gem of the three; it’s a much better quality live recording than its predecessor, and it ranks as probably the key document of the Wishbone Ash Mk. II line-up of guitarists Andy Powell (he of the Flying V) and Laurie Wisefield, bassist Martin Turner and drummer Steve Upton. This album never came out in the U.S.; what’s more, only the first 25,000 copies released in Britain included an extra bonus LP, the contents of which we’ve included on this 79-minute CD (Live Dates II was only briefly available on CD before in a Japanese limited edition that came out last year and is already fetching triple figures online). A wish (sorry) come true for Ash fans and for ‘70s rock guitar fans, too—check out “F.U.B.B.” and “The Way of the World” for some serious axe-slaying.


Record One

1 Doctor

2 Living Proof

3 Runaway

4 Helpless

5 F.U.B.B.

6 The Way of The World

Bonus Record

7 Lorelei

8 Persephone

9 You Rescue Me

10 Time Was

11 Goodbye Baby Hello Friend

12 No Easy Road


Article originally appeared on Real Gone Music (http://www.realgonemusic.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.