« Kenny O'Dell | Main | Billy Joe Shaver »



We have a limited number of booklets and tray cards signed. First-come, first-served and only one autographed copy per customer's order allowed. AUTOGRAPHED COPIES ARE NOW SOLD OUT but the regular version is still available

• Domestic CD Debut for Two Lost Country-Rock Classics

• The Second Album Is Mastered from Original Tapes That Were Thought to Be Lost

• Sidemen Include Garth Hudson and Richard Manuel of The Band, Ben Keith, David Sanborn, the Brecker Brothers, John Simon, Billy Mundi, Vassar Clements and Ken Kosek

• Liner Notes by Richie Unterberger Include Quotes from Borderline Founding Members Jon Gershen, Jim Rooney, and Dave Gershen 

• Features Photos from Jon Gershen's Private Archive

BORDERLINE: Sweet Dreams and Quiet Desires/The Second Album CD

Composed of brothers Dave and Jon Gershen and Jim Rooney, Borderline was at the center of the fertile ‘70s Woodstock scene. And when we say the center, we mean the center; not only did Rooney manage Albert Grossman’s Bearsville Sound Studio, where Sweet Dreams and Quiet Desires was recorded in 1972, but it seems like virtually every famous musician in a 10-mile radius played on the record, including Neil Young’s favorite sideman Ben Keith, fiddlers supreme Vassar Clements and Ken Kosek, drummer Billy Mundi, saxophonist David Sanborn, Band producer John Simon on piano and Band members Richard Manuel and Garth Hudson (billed as “Dick Handle” and “Campo Malaqua,” respectively) on keyboards. The reclusive Van Morrison even chipped in with a personal testimonial. So, how come most folks haven’t heard of, much less heard, this record? Well, usually in these cases, it’s the record label’s fault; and considering that Borderline’s Sweet Dreams and Quiet Desires came out on an imprint of United Artists, Avalanche, that only survived long enough to release a small number of records, it’s a pretty safe bet that promotion of the album was nil. The story gets even worse for Borderline—recorded a year later in 1973, The Second Album (featuring such sidemen as the Brecker Brothers and Amos Garrett) was shelved by United Artists and didn’t even see release until 2001, when EMI Japan dropped a now out of print and very expensive CD mastered from the only audio source they could find, a copy of an old acetate. Both records are considered country rock classics, eminently tasteful and redolent of that mellow, wistful, early ‘70s Woodstock vibe—and both see an American CD release for the first time on this Real Gone release. Even better, we found the thought-to-be-lost original two-track album master tapes for both albums and remastered them at Capitol Studios (the Japanese CD of Sweet Dreams released in 2000 did not use the original mix)! Throw in new notes by Richie Unterberger featuring quotes from the three original members and photos from his private archive and this release is an essential missing thread in the Americana music tapestry.


Sweet Dreams and Quiet Desires

1.   Handsome Molly

2.   Marble Eyes

3.   Don’t Know Where I’m Going

4.   Good Woman’s Love

5.   Please Help Me Forget

6.   The Distance

7.   Dragonfly

8.   Sweet Dreams

9.   Clinch Mountain

10. Marilla

11. As Long as It’s You and Me

The Second Album 

12. Sonny Boy

13. Sleepy Rider

14. No Uncertain Terms

15. Beginning of the End

16. Ben’s Turn

17. Songs to Father

18. Only the Best

19. In Some Old Book

20. Matter of Trust

21. Heaven’s So Hard to Find

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend