« JOHNNY MATHIS | Main | Barbara Lewis »

Johnny Mathis

• Johnny Mathis' Classic Mercury Albums on CD for the First Time Ever

• Ole' Is One of the Most Artistically Daring Albums of Mathis' Career; The Shadow of Your Smile Is One of the Most Popular

• Remastered from the Original Tapes by Mark Wilder at Battery Studios in NYC

• Liner Notes by Jim Ritz Feature an Exclusive Interview with Johnny Mathis




1964’s This Is Love was one of the last and greatest of the romantic ballad albums Johnny had been recording throughout his career to that point, with three tracks (“Poinciana,” “The Touch of Your Lips” and “The End of a Love Affair”) paying tribute to another all-time great romantic balladeer and early role model, Nat “King” Cole. 1965’s Ole, meanwhile, marked a daring artistic turn for the artist, as it presented Latin songs sung in their native languages of Spanish and Portuguese (including two from the film Black Orpheus) with authentic, stripped-down accompaniment. It turned out to be too much of a departure for his fanbase--Ole’ broke Johnny’s streak of 25 straight charting albums. But it remains one of his most treasured releases, a true artistic tour de force and one of the finest American pop answers to the bossa nova craze that swept the country in the mid-‘60s. Jim Ritz contributes liner notes with fresh quotes from Johnny himself—newly remastered by Mark Wilder at Battery Studios!


 This Is Love

1.    Put on a Happy Face

2.    Poinciana

3.    The Touch of Your Lips

4.    Just Move Along, Meadow Lark

5.    Under a Blanket of Blue

6.    Over the Week End

7.    More

8.    You Love Me

9.    Limehouse Blues

10. What Do You Feel in Your Heart

11. The End of a Love Affair

12. Fantastic


13. Granada

14. Without You (Tres Palabras)

15. Felicidade

16. Manha de Carnival

17. Samba de Orfeu

18. La Montana

19. Babalu

20. Serenata

21. Bachianas Brasilieras  (Parts 1-3



Signed tracyrds for The Sweetheart Tree/The Shadow of Your Smile CD are still available. First come, first served and only one autographed copy per customer allowed. 

JOHNNY MATHIS: The Sweetheart Tree/The Shadow of Your Smile CD

A pair of 1965 albums, with liner notes by Jim Ritz containing exclusive quotes from Johnny and a sparkling remastering job by Mark Wilder at Battery Studios! Johnny went to London to record ten of the tracks—his first sessions outside the U.S.—for The Sweetheart Tree, which featured the Academy Award-nominated title track penned by Mathis and Henry Mancini for the film The Great Race. And The Shadow of Your Smile was, with the exception of his Christmas record, the most popular of the albums Johnny recorded for Mercury, reaching #9 on the charts. It features the singer’s first foray into Beatle-mania (“Michelle” and “Yesterday”) and three songs from the hit Broadway musical On a Clear Day You Can See Forever.


The Sweetheart Tree

1.   On a Wonderful Day Like Today

2.   Arrivederci Roma

3.   Clopin Clopant

4.   This Is Love

5.   I’ll Close My Eyes

6.   The Very Thought of You

7.   Danny Boy

8.   The Sweetheart Tree

9.   Symphony

10. The Skye Boat Song

11. Autumn Leaves

12. Mirage 

The Shadow of Your Smile

13. Moment to Moment

14. The Shadow of Your Smile

15. Michelle

16. Yesterday

17. Something’s Coming

18. A Taste of Honey

19. In Love for the Very First Time

20. Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars

21. (I Left My Heart in) San Francisco

22. On a Clear Day (You Can See Forever)

23. Melinda

24. Come Back to Me


PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend