EL TOPO: Soundtrack Album
Thursday, October 25, 2012 at 12:53PM
[Your Name Here]



The Soundtrack Album to the Legendary Cult Classic, First Released on Apple Records in 1971

First-Ever Stand-Alone CD Reissue

First-Ever Legitimate LP Reissue

The Original Gatefold Album Cover Faithfully Reproduced, Along with Four-Page Booklet Featuring Bizarre Images from the Film

CD Booklet Includes New Liner Notes

Mastered by Joe Yannece at Classic Sound

LP Pressed on 180-Gram Vinyl

Lacquer Cutting by Carl Rowatti at TruTone Mastering

Produced for Release by ABKCO’s In-House Engineer Teri Landi and Mick Gochanour

EL TOPO: Soundtrack Album (LP & CD Release)

Championed by everybody from John Lennon to Peter Gabriel to Marilyn Manson—and decried by “Establishment” critics ranging from Vincent Canby to Gene Siskel —El Topo remains one of the most controversial movies ever made. Director Alejandro Jodorowsky’s bizarre, blood-soaked blend of spaghetti Western, druggy surrealism, Christian allegory, Zen Buddhist themes and avant-garde sensibilities gave rise to the entire “Midnight Movie” counterculture phenomenon of the early ‘70s and forever changed the way adventurous audiences viewed film. Or, for that matter, heard film; for no soundtrack, before or since, has embraced so many styles in its pursuit of spiritual and artistic goals. Atonal, Tibetan Buddhist thighbone trumpets clash with beautiful, even sentimental, chamber orchestra pieces alongside pan flute rhapsodies, brass bands and parlor jazz; that Jodorowsky himself composed the score—after, no doubt, intently studying the work of Morricone—is almost as impressive an artistic achievement as the film itself.

Now, Real Gone Music, in partnership with ABKCO Music & Records, is issuing this one-of-a-kind soundtrack album on LP and as a stand-alone compact disc for the first time since the original release produced by Allan Steckler for Apple Records back in 1971. What’s more, the four-page booklet boasting some of the film’s hallucinogenic imagery that came with the original release will be included in the gatefold LP reissue and incorporated inside the CD booklet, which will also include new liner notes. Mastered by Joe Yannece at Classic Sound in New York, and produced for reissue by ABKCO’s in-house Engineer Teri Landi and Mick Gochanour, with tape transfers by Landi, lacquer cutting by Carl Rowatti at TruTone Mastering and a 180-gram vinyl pressing, Real Gone/ABKCO’s release of El Topo on CD and LP fully captures Jodorowsky’s singular sonic vision.


1.   Entierro Del Primer Juguete (Burial of the First Toy)

2.   Bajo Tierra (Under the Sun)

3.   La Catedral De Los Puercos (The Pigs Monastery)

4.   Los Mendigos Sangrados (The Holy Beggars)

5.   La Muerte Es Un Nacimiento (Death Is Birth)

6.   Curios Mexicano (Mexican Curios)

7.   El Agua Viva (Living Water)

8.   Vals Fantasma

9.   El Alma Nace en la Sangre (The Soul Born in the Blood)

10. Topo Triste

11. Los Dioses De Azucar (The Sugar Gods)

12. Las Flores Nacen En El Barro (The Flowers Born in the Mud)

13. El Infierno De Los Angeles Prostitutos (The Hell of the Prostituted Angels)

14. Marcha De Los Ojos En El Triangulos (March of the Eyes in the Triangles)

15. La Miel Del Dolor (The Pain of the Honey)

16. 300 Conejos (300 Rabbits)

17. Conocimiento A Traves De La Musica (Knowledge Through Music)

18. La Primera Flor Despues Del Diluvio (The First Flower after the Flood)


Article originally appeared on Real Gone Music (http://www.realgonemusic.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.